Search Articles

Search Results containing

انتقل للأسفل للاستمرار

الغاز المسيل للدموع : تحقيق

ما هو وكيف يساء استخدامه ولماذا يجب أن تبدوا اهتماماً

تتضمن المنصة:
مقابلات مع الخبراء
مقاطع فيديو وحكايات
معلومات حول الشركات المصنعة
خريطة الحوادث
مقدمة

جعلونا نعتقد أن استخدام الغاز المسيل للدموع يعد أسلوبًا آمنًا لتفريق المشاركين في الاحتجاجات العنيفة. ويعد الغاز المسيل للدموع اليوم جزءاً من ترسانات المعدات الأقل فتكاً لدى العديد من قوات الأمن – وهي أسلحة تُشكّل بدائل للأسلحة النارية. وتوصف هذه الأسلحة بأنها أقل فتكاً وليس غير فتاكة؛ إذ تظل هناك إمكانية لإحداث تأثير مميت برغم أنها ليست مصممة للقتل. ويعني توفر الغاز المسيل للدموع أن تتجنب الشرطة اللجوء إلى استخدام الأسلحة الأكثر إيذاءً. لكن عملياً تستخدم قوات الشرطة الغاز المسيل للدموع بطرائق من غير المفترض أبدًا استخدامه بها، فغالباً ما استخدمت بكميات كبيرة ضد متظاهرين سلميين بمعظمهم أو بإطلاق المقذوفات على الناس مباشرة.
ويُثير إساءة استخدامه على نطاق واسع أسئلة حول غياب الأنظمة واللوائح المتعلقة بالاستخدام الصحيح أو التركيبات الموحدة للسمية، وعملية صنع القرار المثيرة للشكوك من جانب الذين يشرفون على عمليات الشرطة، وانعدام تدريب العديد من أفراد الشرطة الذين يستخدمونه. ويظل تصميم الغاز المسيل للدموع وصناعته وتجارته سيئ التنظيم برغم بواعث القلق الخطيرة المتعلقة بحقوق الإنسان والإرشادات التي أصدرتها الأمم المتحدة مؤخراً. ونتحرى في هذه المنصة أسباب الأذى الذي يلحقه استخدام الغاز المسيل للدموع وما يمكننا القيام به إزاء ذلك.

كيف يعمل؟
ما هي مكونات عبوة الغاز المسيل للدموع؟

نلقي هنا نظرة على بعض العناصر المكونة التي يُعرف أنها موجودة في بعض عبوات الغاز المسيل للدموع:

ما هي مكونات عبوة الغاز المسيل للدموع؟
المادة المسيلة للدموع
نترات البوتاسيوم
كلورات البوتاسيوم
السيليكون
كربونات المغنيسيوم
السكروز
النيتروسيلولوز
الفحم
العواقب المترتبة على الصحة

يسبب التعرض للغاز المسيل للدموع إحساساً بالحريق ويحفز الدمع في العيون، والسعال، والشعور بضيق في الصدر، وصعوبة التنفس، وتهيّج البشرة. وفي معظم الحالات تزول الآثار في غضون 10 دقائق إلى 20 دقيقة. بيد أن الغاز المسيل للدموع يُحدث في الناس تأثيراً متفاوتاً، مع كون الأطفال، والنساء الحوامل، وكبار السن الأكثر عرضة لآثاره. وتختلف مستويات السمية باختلاف مواصفات المنتج، والكمية المستخدمة، والبيئة التي يُستخدم فيها الغاز. وقد يسبب الاحتكاك المطول مخاطر صحية جسيمة. ولم نكتشف بعد النطاق الكامل لتأثيره على المدى الطويل بسبب العدد المحدود من الأبحاث الصادرة حول آثار هذه الغازات، وهناك حاجة ملحة لإجراء مزيد من الدراسات المنهجية. وقد ألقينا الضوء هنا على بعض بواعث القلق الصحية التي أوجزها المركز الأمريكي لمكافحة الأمراض والوقاية منها وأطباء من أجل حقوق الإنسان.

العواقب المترتبة على الصحة
الأنف
الجهاز التنفسي
الرئتان
العيون
الفم
البشرة
الحالة النفسية
جهاز القلب والأوعية الدموية
التأثير المباشر
مقابلات مع الخبراء

أجرت منظمة العفو الدولية مقابلات مع خبراء في الرعاية الصحية، والحفاظ على الأمن، والتجارة، والأعمال، وحقوق الإنسان لفهم الطرائق العديدة التي يساء فيها استخدام الغاز المسيل للدموع حول العالم. وتبين هذه المقابلات مجتمعة الهوة بين تصوير الغاز المسيل للدموع بأنه سلاح بسيط أقل فتكاً يُستخدم لتفريق الجموع وبين الأذى الذي يمكن أن يسببه سوء استخدامه في الواقع.

كيف يساء استخدامه؟

وفقاً للمبادئ التوجيهية لاستخدام القوة لدى منظمة العفو الدولية لا يجوز استخدام الغاز المسيل للدموع إلا في الأوضاع التي تشهد عنفاً عاماً، وذلك بغية تفريق الجموع، وفقط عندما تخفق جميع الوسائل الأخرى في احتواء العنف. ولا يجوز استخدامه إلا عندما تتاح للناس فرصة للتفرق وليس عندما يكونون في حيز مغلق أو حيث تُسد الطرقات أو غيرها من سبل النجاة. وينبغي تحذير الناس من أن هذه الوسائل ستُستخدم، ويجب السماح لهم بالتفرق ولا يجوز أبداً إطلاق الخراطيش التي تحتوي على مهيجات كيماوية مباشرة على أي شخص. وإذا استُخدمت فيجب تجنب التعرض المتكرر أو المطول لها، وينبغي أن تعقبها فوراً إجراءات إزالة التلوث.

الأماكن المغلقة
الإطلاق المباشر وغير المباشر
الكميات المفرطة
المظاهرات السلمية
الأشخاص الأكثر عرضة للإصابة
شركة مصنعة
حادثة
تنزيل البيانات

خريطة الحوادث

تحققت منظمة العفو الدولية من صحة ما يقرب من 500 فيديو لإساءة استخدام الغاز المسيل للدموع في 22 بلداً ومنطقة، أُدرج ما يفوق 80 منها في هذه الخريطة لتوضيح الطرائق المختلفة التي يساء فيها استخدام الغاز المسيل للدموع. ويرجى الملاحظة أن بعض أجزاء هذا المحتوى قد تسبب الحزن والأسى لبعض الناس.

إطلاق خريطة الحوادث
خلفية
موارد إضافية
    الشركات المصنعة ذات الصلة
    حوادث مشابهة

Search Articles

Search Results containing

Scroll down to continue

TEAR GAS: AN INVESTIGATION

What it is, how it is abused and why you should care

This platform contains:
Expert Testimonies
Videos and stories
Information about manufacturers
Incident map
Introduction

We are led to believe tear gas is a safe method of dispersing participants of violent protests. Today, it is a part of many security forces’ arsenal of less-lethal equipment – weapons that are alternatives to firearms. These weapons are called less-lethal rather than non-lethal as, although they are not designed to kill, there is still the possibility of lethal effect.  The availability of tear gas can mean police avoid having to resort to the use of more harmful weapons. But in practice police forces use tear gas in ways that it was never intended to be used, often in large quantities against largely peaceful protesters or by firing projectiles directly at people. 
 
Its widespread abuse raises questions about the lack of regulations of appropriate use or standardised formulations of toxicity, the questionable decision-making of those in control of police operations, and the lack of training of many police officers deploying it. Despite serious human rights concerns and guidance issued recently by the United Nations, the design, manufacture of, and trade in tear gas remain poorly regulated. In this report, we investigate why tear gas use is harmful and what we can do about it.

HOW IT WORKS?
WHAT’S INSIDE?

Here, we look at some of the components known to be present in some tear gas canisters:

WHAT’S INSIDE?
Lachrymator
Potassium nitrate
Potassium chlorate
Silicon
Magnesium carbonate
Sucrose
Nitrocellulose
Charcoal
Health Consequences

Exposure to tear gas causes a burning sensation and induces streaming eyes, coughing, tightening of the chest and difficulty breathing, and skin irritation. In most cases, effects wear off in 10 to 20 minutes. However, tear gas affects people differently, with children, pregnant women and the elderly particularly susceptible to its effects. Toxicity levels can vary according to the product specifications, the quantity used, and the environment it is used in. Prolonged contact can pose severe health risks. Due to limited published research on the effects of these gases, we are yet to discover the full scope of its impact, and further systematic studies are urgently needed.



Here, we have highlighted some of the  health concerns outlined by the U.S. Center for Disease Control and Prevention and by Physicians for Human Rights.

Health Consequences
Nose
Respiratory System
Lungs
Eyes
Mouth
Skin
Psychological
Cardiovascular System
Direct Impact
EXPERT INTERVIEWS
Amnesty International interviewed experts in health care, policing, trade, and business and human rights to understand the many ways tear gas is misused around the world. Taken together, these interviews show the gulf between portrayals of tear gas as a simple less lethal weapon used for crowd dispersal, and the harm its misuse can cause in reality.
Rohini Haar
Emergency Physician and Researcher
UC Berkeley
Graham Dossett
Policing and Human Rights Expert
Human Rights Centre University of Essex
Tara van Ho
Business and Human Rights Expert
University of Essex
Anna Feigenbaum
Associate Professor in Communication and Digital Media
Bournemouth University
Ara Marcen Naval
Former Deputy Director for Arms Control and Human Rights
Amnesty International
HOW IS IT ABUSED?

According to Amnesty International’s Use of Force Guidelines, tear gas may only be used in situations of more generalized violence for the purpose of dispersing a crowd, and only when all other means have failed to contain the violence. It may only be used when people have the opportunity to disperse and not when they are in a confined space or where roads or other routes of escape are blocked. People must be warned that these means will be used, and they must be allowed to disperse. Cartridges with chemical irritants may never be fired directly at any person. If used, repeated or prolonged exposure should be avoided and decontamination procedures should be followed immediately.

Confined Spaces
Direct Fire and Skip Fire
Excessive Quantities
Peaceful Demonstrations
Susceptible  People
Manufacturer
Event
Download Data

INCIDENT MAP

Amnesty International verified close to 500 videos of tear gas misuse in 22 countries and territories, over 80 of which are included in this map to illustrate the various ways tear gas is abused. Please note that some of this content may be distressing to some people.

LAUNCH INCIDENT MAP
Background information
Testimony
Show More Show Less
Additional resources
    Linked companies and manufacturers
    Similar Incidents